16 December 2006

Backs and Doors

Posted in nonesense at 5:34 pm by nomie

We’ve all seen those moments in movies or on TV, they’re usually cheesy, when a character exits via a door or shows someone out the door, only to stop just after it’s been closed to lean up against that very door to ponder the emotion of the moment that has just passed.  Usually these moments come right after either a particularly romantic or heartbreaking event.

But seriously, who does that?  I never have.  Do people do that?

It’s one of those things that only happens in the movies.    And while I know that unrealistic things are done in movies for effect, it’s one of my pet peeves.  I can’t abide by it.  I can’t buy into that behaviour.  I can’t get behind that!  Exit the building and then do your pondering.  Get in the car and then pause to let the emotion sink-in.  But leaning against the door when the other person is only a foot away on the other side?  Wouldn’t they hear you not walk away and start to wonder?  I think I would.

Maybe I should try it the next time I exit a particularly romantic or heartbreaking event.

-exit

-door closes

-pause

-lean

-sigh

-reflect

I’d probably wack my head against the door, only to be heard by the person on the other side.  Or they’d be staring out the peephole to watch me walk away (because I assume that some people do that…), only to see me go nowhere and think: “How wierd, what is she doing, stalking me?”  Somehow,  my attempt at having an intense moment of reflection would turn not turn out so perfect.  Somehow, I’d manage to bring embarassment upon myself.

So why?  Why the leaning against the doors?

Or perhaps the real question is: Do “intense” moments like that ever really happen in the first place?  Bah!

Leave a comment